The Colonial Period

Name three of the original States

In the beginning (the one after the people who already lived here got the boot) there were thirteen colonies, or states. Since everyone had just piled off scurvy-encrusted wooden boats after some 2,000 treacherous miles of sailing, they couldn’t be bothered to go far into the interior, preferring instead the Eastern seaboard – except for Florida, probably because of all the alligators and ostrich-sized mosquitoes. So if you’re stumped, just think of an East Coast state. If you’re looking for three, you might choose all the ones that begin with New for example:

  • New Hampshire
  • New Jersey
  • New York

If you want the first 3 original states of the USA, they would be

  • Delaware
  • Pennsylvania
  • New Jersey

– these are the podium winners in the state olympics.

Easy Three of Thirteen Original States

If you don’t go for the first set of three,  you might go for one of the harder ones like these ten:

  1. Massachussets
  2. Rhode Island
  3. Connecticut
  4. Pennsylvania
  5. Delaware
  6. Maryland
  7. Virginia
  8. North Carolina
  9. South Carolina
  10. Georgia

By Fred Morse

I moved from Wales to the United States in 2005 and have been through the US immigration process and have learned all about citizenship and nationalization on the way. I currently live in Texas with my wife and two dogs

One reply on “Name three of the original States”

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *