What are the Five US Territories?

For the immigration test you only need to be able to name one of the five major US Territories:

  1. Puerto Rico
  2. US Virgin Islands
  3. American Samoa – residents are considered US Nationals, whereas the other four territories’ residents are US citizens
  4. Northern Mariana Islands
  5. Guam

These five are inhabited pieces of land – they’re not quite states but they can send a representative to Congress with limited voting rights.

By Fred Morse

I moved from Wales to the United States in 2005 and have been through the US immigration process and have learned all about citizenship and nationalization on the way. I currently live in Texas with my wife and two dogs

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *